18
Jan
12

In Appreciation of (Trench) Coats

Please don’t hate me because I live in Los Angeles, where both Christmas and New Years were just about 80 degrees, clear and gorgeous, because I have a dirty little secret to share with you – I’m madly in love with coats of all kinds and so wish I got to where coats more often! They’re one of my favorite categories of clothing/adornment and provide such an easy opportunity to make a statement.

Of course I’m so grateful for the almost year-round ability to go hiking, biking, etc. and that I very rarely have to battle or prepare myself for the elements, but its such a treat to get to layer!

One form of coat I’ve seen a lot of in magazines and blogs this year, and which is even wearable here fairly often, is the trench coat, classic…

…and otherwise!! (All images from www.net-a-porter.com, as follows – 1) A.P.C. Gabardine Trench Coat, on sale for $230 ; 2) Burberry Brit Short Trench Coat $795; 3)Valentino Leather Trench Coat, on sale for $2037.60; 4) Alice + Olivia Leopard-Print Cotton-Blend Trench Coat, on sale for $247.50; and 5) Derek Lam Stretch-Denim Trench Coat, on sale for $725.  And Topshop has a very reasonable one (which I unfortunately couldn’t get a picture of) for $138 which comes in tan, camel, ivory and an incredible red! Take a look here.

I’ll do my best to be styling up my wardrobe with some version of these for the remainder  of the “cooler” (ha!) weather this year (the leopard and the green leather are my faves) but any of these could certainly remain staples in your wardrobe for years to come.

 (Originally posted 1/5/12 on http://www.urbandarling.com where I am a wardrobe stylist.)

0 Responses to “In Appreciation of (Trench) Coats”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers

Twitter

Follow EclectiaAdorn on Twitter

BlogTopSites